Contact Information

Board of Education
Name Role Contact Info

Tom Weber (Board Chair)
Trustee, Area B (Lazo North) Tom.Weber@sd71.bc.ca
250-218-7095

Janice Caton (Vice Chair)
Trustee, City of Courtenay Janice.Caton@sd71.bc.ca
250-338-6858

Cliff Boldt
Trustee, City of Courtenay Cliff.Boldt@sd71.bc.ca
250-218-6597

Vickey Brown
Trustee, Village of Cumberland Vickey.Brown@sd71.bc.ca
250-218-0321

Peter Coleman
Trustee, Town of Comox Peter.Coleman@sd71.bc.ca
250-218-4036

Ian Hargreaves
Trustee, Area C (Puntledge/Black Creek) Ian.Hargreaves@sd71.bc.ca
250-703-1228

Sheila McDonnell
Trustee, Area A (Baynes Sound, Hornby and Denman Islands) Sheila.McDonnell@sd71.bc.ca
250-218-8571
Senior Administration
Name Position Contact Info
Tom Demeo Acting Superintendent Debra.Page@sd71.bc.ca
Sheldon Lee Acting Secretary Treasurer Sheldon.Lee@sd71.bc.ca
Esther Shatz Director of Instruction (Student Services) Esther.Shatz@sd71.bc.ca
Allan Douglas Director of Instruction (Elementary) Allan.Douglas@sd71.bc.ca
Lynda-Marie Handfield Director of Human Resources Lynda-Marie.Handfield@sd71.bc.ca
Ian Heselgrave Director of Operations Ian.Heselgrave@sd71.bc.ca
Candice Hilton Director of Finance Candice.Hilton@sd71.bc.ca
District Principals
Name Position Contact Info
Cheryl Rabbitt District Principal (Student Services) Cheryl.Rabbitt@sd71.bc.ca
Gerald Fussell District Principal (Innovation and Technology) Gerald.Fussell@sd71.bc.ca
Bruce Carlos District Principal (Aboriginal Education) Bruce.Carlos@sd71.bc.ca
Steve Knight District Principal (International Education) Steve.Knight@sd71.bc.ca
Paul Berry District Principal (Health and Safety) Paul.Berry@sd71.bc.ca
Jeff Stewart District Principal (Distributed Learning) Jeff.Stewart@sd71.bc.ca

School Board Offices
607 Cumberland Road
Courtenay, BC
V9N 7G5

Phone: 250-334-5500
Fax: 250-334-5552

General Enquiries Email: info@sd71.bc.ca
Employment Enquiries Email: hr@sd71.bc.ca

School Board Office Hours

Regular Hours Summer Hours
Monday through Friday
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Monday through Friday
8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Parent Advisory Councils
Please contact your child's school for PAC meeting dates and times or for the names of the executive members.

Or click here to go to the Comox Valley Parents' Advisory Council.