The Yukon Territory is above British Columbia and between The Northwest Territories and Alaska (which is part of the United States).

The population of the Yukon Territory in 2008 was 33 100 people.

The capital city is Whitehorse.

Please click here to see a clear map of the Yukon Territory.

The flag of the Yukon Territories has three coloured panels: the green stands for the forests, the white for the snow and the blue for the Northern waters. In the middle is the coat of arms with the territorial flower symbol, fireweed, beside it.

On the shield there are two wavy white lines with a blue background. These stand for the Yukon River and the other rivers and creeks where gold was found during the Klondike Gold Rush. The two red triangles are mountains and the gold circles stand for the minerals found in the mountains that have helped bring wealth to the Yukon. The Malamute or Husky dog at the top is standing on snow. These dogs are common work dogs in the Yukon and are well known for their stamina, loyalty and strength.

The provincial flower of the Yukon Territory is Fireweed. This purple flower grows all over the Yukon in June, July and August along the sides of the roads. It is called Fireweed because it is the first flower to grow after a forest fire.

To learn more about Fireweed please click here.

Photo courtesy of Adventure Network.


The Yukon Territory bird symbol is the Common Raven. These birds are found throughout the Yukon and remain in the Winter. They are considered intelligent birds and they live almost as long as humans. Native People of the Yukon believe that the Raven helped create the world and they call it "The Trickster".

To learn more about the Raven symbol please click here.

In 2001, the Yukon Territory chose the sub-alpine fir as their official tree. It ranges from 6 to 20 meters tall and grows at higher elevations. It is able to stand heavy snow because it's branches slope downwards.

To learn more about the sub-alpine fir please click here.

The Yukon coat of arms is on their flag. To learn about this, please read the information about the flag.

The Yukon Territory tartan has 6 colours:

  • The blue stands for the sparkling glacier fed waters and clear mountain skies
  • The Magenta stands for the flower symbol (Fireweed)
  • The green stands for the forest
  • The purple is for the mountain peeks high in the Northern sky
  • White is for the pure white snow on mountain peaks and alpine meadows
  • Yellow is for the evenings when the sun is out at night and for the gold that brought wealth to the Yukon.

To learn more about the Yukon Territory symbols please click here.

To learn more about the Yukon click here.

To visit the Yukon Archives Museum click here.

To visit the Yukon MacBride Museum click here.

To visit the Yukon Government page please click here.

To return to the map of Canada please click here.

To return to the sd71 home page please click here.