Quebec is the largest province in Canada. Quebec has Manitoba on its left (West) side, New Brunswick on the lower right (East) side and it also touches Newfoundland. Below Quebec are the American states: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont and New York.

The population of Quebec is
7 750 500 (2008) and many of the people who live in Quebec speak french.

The capital city of Quebec is Quebec City.

Click here to see a clear map of Quebec.

Quebec's flag has a blue background with a white cross and four fleur-de-lis. Samuel de Champlain flew a blue flag with a white cross when he first explored the St. Lawrence river and set up the first settlement where Quebec is now. The fleur-de-lis is a symbol used by Louis the sixteenth of France as a seal for envelopes and papers and is a common symbol of France.

Quebec's provincial flower is the Blue Flag Iris. The original flower symbol was the Madonna Lily and the people of Quebec had a big argument over using this flower because it does not grow naturally in Quebec. The argument was call the "War of the Lilies". In the fall of 1999 they switched to the Blue Flag Lily a spring flower that grows all over Quebec.

To learn more about the Blue Flag Iris please click here.


Quebec's provincial bird is the Snowy Owl.

Click here to learn more about Quebec's bird symbol.

Reproduced with permission of the Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, 2000.

Quebec's provincial tree is the Yellow Birch. It was chosen because it grows throughout Quebec and is able to grow in many different conditions. It also brings lots of money into Quebec as it is sold as lumber.

To learn more about the Yellow Birch please click here.

The Quebec coat of arms has the fleur-de-lis at the top on a blue background that stand for the ties that Quebec has with France. The next section down is red with a lion to remember Quebec's ties with Britain. Under that are the Canadian maple leaves from Quebec's forest.

The motto, "JE ME SOUVIENS" means "I remember".

Quebec does not have an official tartan but this unofficial one has colours that go with sections on the coat of arms:
  • Blue is for the top part with the fleur-de-lis
  • Green is for the bottom section with the maple leaves
  • Read is for the background in the middle
  • Gold is for the lion and the crown
  • White is for the motto at the bottom

To learn more about Quebec's provincial symbols click here.

To learn even more about Quebec click here.

To return to the map of Canada please click here.

To return to the sd71 home page please click here.